by Paul Kuijer,. Published: 22 January 2013

ALICE awards prizes for the best technical and physics thesis once per year.

The prize is intended to make visible to the world and our own collaboration members that many of the important results coming from ALICE are produced by the hardworking PhD students . Of course it is an honour to be the author of the best thesis among all the excellent colleagues in a large collaboration. That the work done in ALICE and the communication of the results is recognized also among non-physicists has been made explicit this year by a kind donation which we will use to augment the prestige of the thesis award further.

This year the ALICE thesis award committee had an exceptionally difficult task to select among the theses that were nominated. Not only did the number of nominations increase, as one would expect with data taking, reconstruction and analysis working well, but also because all theses were of very high quality, such that any of them qualified for a prize. However, as you know, there are only two prizes (physics and technical thesis) and there are always details that make one thesis better than the rest.

The thesis committee is proud to announce that the winners of this year's thesis awards are:

Antonin Maire - best physics thesis. Antonin’s thesis focuses on “Multi-strange baryon production at the LHC in proton-proton collisions with the ALICE experiment” and was supervised by Christian Kuhn. It was submitted to the University of Strasbourg (IPHC Institute) and the full abstract can be found on the following link .

Magnus Mager - best technical thesis on the "Studies on the upgrade of the ALICE central tracker". Magnus pursued his PhD thesis under the supervision of Peter Braun-Munzinger and Luciano Musa in the frame of the CERN doctoral student programme and presented his thesis in the Faculty of Physics in the Technical University of Darmstadt. A full abstract of his thesis can be found here

We are impressed by the quality and amount of the work put into both theses. The achievements of the winners and the clarity of the explanation in their thesis were excellent. The official ceremony will be in the collaboration board meeting in March, but I would like to congratulate Antonin and Magnus already now and thank them for their wonderful contribution to the ALICE experiment.

Paul Kuijer

On behalf of the thesis committee: Bruno Ghidini, Christina Markert, Nicole Bastid, Peter Braun-Muninger, Sudhir Raniwala