by Catherine Decosse. Published: 17 November 2010

Four new institutes were accepted into ALICE at last Friday’s Collaboration Board. With these additions, which were put forward as candidates by the Management Board, the ALICE collaboration now has a total of 119 institutes.

Biswarup Ganguly

India's Bose Institue; one of ALICE's newest members

We have two types of membership status in the ALICE collaboration; full member institutes and associate member institutes.

The status of associate institute at the collaboration is granted to those that presently do not wish to enter into a long term commitment to the ALICE experiment. Associate institutes are required to contribute to the running cost of the experiment, but do not normally contribute to the common fund and the maintenance and operation budgets. Associate institutes may not vote in the Collaboration Board.

Both India’s Bose Institute, based in Kolkata, and the University of Gahauti, in Assam, have been accepted as full members of the collaboration. They will act to contribute to the physics undertaken at ALICE, and also to upgrade activities.

The Korea Institute of Science and Technology has been accepted as an associate member. They will contribute to the ALICE Grid and parallel computing, and in addition will operate an ALICE Tier-2 centre – and a Tier-1 in the near future.

Hans Rudolf Schmidt recently moved to the University of Tübingen from Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung (GSI), and formed a team which will continue to work on the Time Projection Chamber, physics and upgrade activities. The University of Tübingen has been accepted as a full member of the collaboration.

At present, we have 113 full member institutes and six associate member institutes. A complete list of these can be found on the collaboration web pages.