by Iva Raynova. Published: 30 July 2016

During the last ALICE week, 11-15 July 2016, John Harris was elected as the next Collaboration Board Chair. His three-year mandate will begin on 1 January 2017 and he will succeed Peter Braun-Munzinger.

After the election the Collaboration Board was resumed with a presentation by Peter Braun-Munzinger about the newly formed Subcommittee on Revision of the ALICE constitution. Its task is to look broadly at the constitution and to propose revisions wherever appropriate. The main focus will be on the election rules for important ALICE functions, the publication policy, the service to the collaboration, the definition of responsibility and authority of the major ALICE bodies and general items related to present and foreseeable future goals and roles of the experiment, including the ALICE upgrade.

Paolo Giubellino, the ALICE Spokesperson, presented the recent news from the Management Board, after which the Collaboration Board made four endorsements. Roberta Arnaldi is the new convener of the Dileptons and Quarkonia physics working group and Joakim Nystrand is the new convener of the Ultraperipheral, Diffractive, Cross section and Multiplicity, and Cosmics physics working group. The mandate of Oliver Busch, convener of the Jets physics working group, was extended until 1 July 2017 and Letitia Cunqueiro was endorsed as his successor. Christian Klein-Boesing was endorsed as Conference Committee member for a second mandate.

The Nara Women’s University (Japan), was accepted as a full member of the Collaboration. The Ettore Majorana Centre for Scientific Culture (Erice, Italy), the Institute for Advanced Physical Studies (Bulgaria), the Synchrotron Light Research Institute (SLRI) Thailand and J-PARC (Japan) were accepted as ALICE associate members.

Finally, the Collaboration Board meeting was concluded by the Juniors’ report.