by Julie Hadre. Published: 03 December 2010

Citizens of countries outside of the European Economic Area1 and Switzerland, who are conducting research or teaching at a university level at CERN, are reminded that they are required to apply "Protocole d'accueil" for a stay at CERN of maximum 90 days in any six-month period.


The “Protocole d’Accueil” is duly completed and signed by Ulla Tihinen from the ALICE Secretariat, and is then forwarded to the Host States Service at CERN. This service gives its seal, and has the Protocole d’accueil signed by the french sub-prefecture, before returning it to the ALICE Secretariat.

It is important that ALICE collaborators who are entitled to a “Protocole d’accueil” do request one, as Point 2 is located in France. Moreover, this document will be requested by the Users’ Office for any new registrations.

Further detailed information about visas and residence permits are available on the Relations with the Host States service website and on the Users’ Office website. The ALICE Secretariat would also be pleased to answer any questions.

  • 1. Which currently includes: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom.